Whether you are new to firearms and firearm safety, or are an experienced marksman, we often get many questions that can be easily answered.
We invite you to browse the questions and answers below, and if you still have any questions, please feel free to contact us for more information and we will try to respond as quickly as possible. For the quickest response, I recommend sending a text message to our main business number.
How do I Get a Concealed Carry License?
Here are the steps to get an Ohio Concealed Carry License:
- Verify that you are able to get a concealed carry license. See disqualifiers below.
- Register for Armed2Defend’s class by selecting a class date and filling out the registration information.
- Attend and pass the training. No need to pre-study or practice before the class. We’ll teach and train you in everything that is needed in order to pass the class. At the end, you’ll receive the Ohio application, Ohio Attorney General’s Concealed Handgun Law Summary, passport style photo, and the certificate of competency.
- Fill out your application and review the Ohio Attorney General’s Concealed Handgun Law Summary.
- Schedule an appointment with your county or an adjoining county sheriff’s office. See our resources page for sheriff contact information.
- Go to your appointment and turn in your paperwork (application filled out with photo attached, your government issued ID (Driver’s License, State ID, Passport…), and the $67 registration fee in exact change. Do not bring a gun to the sheriff’s office.
- After your appointment they will run a background check and then call you when your license is ready to be picked up.
Taking Armed2Defend’s concealed carry class meets the Ohio, Arizona, and Florida training requirements. If you are interested in applying for the Florida or Arizona concealed carry license, please follow the steps on their respective pages.
I am New To Guns, Where Do I Start?
You’re in good company because over half our students in any given class are beginners.
Our concealed carry course starts at the beginner level where we’ll cover all the basic topics. At the range we provide one-on-one instruction with encouraging instructors who have helped train thousands of beginners. You’ll have plenty of pistol handling experience and knowledge by the end of the course to comfortably and confidently own and use a pistol.
Do I Need to Own a Gun to Before Taking the Training?
No. In fact, we recommend you wait until after the training to purchase a firearm since you will have a better idea of what you need/want. We will provide you with a 22 lr caliber pistol and the ammo to use at the class; this is included in the class fee. We can also provide the eye and ear protection for you to borrow at the range at no charge.
How Much Does It Cost to Get a Concealed Carry License?
It will cost you around $157 ($90 class fee plus $67 license fee) if you take our training.
Our training fee is only $90 which includes everything that you need for the training except for food and drinks. We’ll also give you everything that you need for applying for the license (except the $67 fee), including a passport style photo ($9 value). After the course you will pay the $67 sheriff license fee to the sheriff when you apply for the license.
You have 3 years to apply for the license after taking the training and the license is good for 5 years from when it is issued. The renewal fee is $50 for another 5 year license and no additional training is required.
How long is the Ohio Concealed Carry Training?
Ohio requires at least 8 hours of training and our one day Concealed Carry classes go from 9:00 in the morning till 5:30 in the evening. At the end of the day we’ll give you everything that you need to apply for the Ohio concealed carry license (except the $67 fee).
Do You Offer Two or Multi-Day Classes?
The class can be conveniently broken up over multiple dates if needed.
You’ll start a class date and we’ll keep a record of what you completed on that date. When you come back to another scheduled class date you just simply pick up where you left off. After you complete all lessons and the time requirement you’ll receive your certificate. There is no additional fee for spreading the class over multiple class dates.
How do I Conceal Carry in Other States?
Unlike the Ohio driver’s license that is honored in all 50 states, the Ohio concealed carry license is only currently honored in 39 states (this number changes based on state reciprocity agreements). We cover this information in our class.
What Are the Qualifications for Getting a Concealed Carry License?
In Ohio, as long as you meet the requirements for the license, the Sheriff has to issue you the license. Below is a list of disqualifiers. If you are unsure of your record, contact the Court Clerks’ Office for the county that you were prosecuted in to get a copy of your record. To expunge or seal convictions, also contact the Court’s Clerk Office or an attorney for directions on how to do it.
You cannot obtain the Ohio Concealed Handgun License if you have any of the following convictions or pending cases in Ohio or in any other state unless if the record was sealed or expunged:
- Any felony (Question # 7)
- Any drug related misdemeanor (Questions # 8A and 8B)
- Any misdemeanor offense of violence or charge of domestic violence (Question # 9)
- Any misdemeanor of violence within 3 years (Question # 10)
- Any misdemeanor of possessing of a revoked or suspended concealed handgun license within 3 years (Question # 10)
- Any resisting arrest within 10 years (Question # 11)
- And pending assault or negligent assault charges (Question # 12a)
- Any 2 or more assault or negligent assault misdemeanors within 5 years (Question # 12b)
- Any assaulting of a peace officer (Question # 12c)
The Question numbers refer to the Ohio Concealed Carry Application. This summary is provided as a guide and not to be considered the complete list of disqualifiers for the license. It is your responsibility to make sure that you do not have any disqualifiers before attending the class and/or applying for the license.
How Do I Bring My Gun to the Class?
You don’t need a concealed carry license to own or transport your firearm in your car. You just have to do it by the law. The best way to legally transport it is to have it unloaded (including magazines and speed-loaders) and in a closed box, bag, or case in your trunk (or back of the vehicle).
The box, bag, or case can be as simple as the box you bought it in or it can be a locked case. Store and transport the firearm with the magazines or speed-loaders unloaded and have your ammunition in a separate compartment or bag than your gun.
Does the Concealed Handgun License Training meet the Ohio Training requirement and is it honored by Ohio?
Yes. You can confirm our credentials by contacting your sheriff’s department to verify. The sheriff is the one who processes the application. Kevin Sadeski is a certified NRA instructor (NRA ID# 176644351) and the course meets the requirements described in section 2923.125(G) (1) of the Ohio Revised Code. All successful students also pass the competency examination as described in section 2923.125(G) (2) of the Ohio Revised Code.
How Can I Teach Concealed Carry Classes?
To become an NRA Certified Pistol Instructor you need to take an NRA Pistol Instructor course from an NRA Certified Training Counselor. This is a 2 day class that has pre-course qualifications that need to be completed before the class. Kevin Sadeski is a certified Training Counselor and offers NRA Instructor courses. Click here for more information.
NRA CCW Instructor Training FAQs
Where are the Classes Held?
The classes are held in Canal Winchester, Ohio (in central Ohio, Southeast of Columbus, Ohio). The exact location is either in the registration page for the specific class date and/or it will be sent after you register. Our large, covered range is on private property in Canal Winchester and is only used for Armed2Defend training courses.
Both days of the training will go from around 8 am till 6 pm. You'll need all of your required equipment for both days of the training but we'll only shoot live rounds on the second day.
The actual ending times are based on the instructor candidates' performance.
Do I Have to Take the NRA Basic CCW Course?
Yes. The only reason you won't have to take it is if you've already completed it and you have the official NRA Basic Pistol Course completion certificate. Click here to read more about the NRA Basic CCW course and to sign up.
Please note, that having a concealed carry license, military training, law enforcement training, or any other training experience does not exempt you from this requirement.
Just as OPOTA doesn't recognize my NRA credentials towards the OPOTA Instructor prerequisites, the NRA doesn't recognize other organizations training towards their prerequisites.
What If I Miss My Scheduled Class Day?
We require a $100 non-refundable and non-transferable deposit be paid at the time of registration. This deposit cannot be transferred to a new class date.
You can select to
A.) Just pay the $100 deposit to register and then pay the remaining $275 at the door on the day of class.
B.) Pay the entire $375 upfront.
*Please note that option B includes your $100 non refundable deposit. If you choose this option and end up not being able to make it to class, you forfeit the $100 portion of your $375 payment but the remaining $275 can be applied to a future class date.
When Can I Start Teaching?
It can take up to 12 days after the class to become certified, but generally it is much faster. After you pass the course I have up to 10 days to submit the course report to the NRA. After the report is submitted, I'll send you an email to notify you. The NRA may take up to 2 days to process the report and then you'll be able to create your login on the NRA Instructor Portal and pay your credentialing fees. After the fees are paid then you're instantly a certified instructor. You'll then be able to download your instructor credential card and certificate from the NRA instructor portal and start teaching classes.
How Long is the Certification Good For? How do I Renew it?
Your instructor certification for the NRA Basic CCW course will get added to your current certifications. It won't add any additional time to your current certification. The NRA uses a 2 years certification period. Before the 2 years are up, all you have to do is pay the certification fee to extend it an additional 2 years. The fee is based on what certifications you hold and if you're a current NRA member at the time of renewing. .
Currently, the NRA does not require renewal training for the NRA Pistol Instructor Certification.
Do I Have to Have a Concealed Carry License?
No, you just need to meet the pre-course requirements to take the training.
Which States will My NRA Instructor Certification be Valid in?
The NRA Pistol Instructor Certification is a national certification. You can teach in any state but you might not be able to certify for any state's concealed carry license. Each state sets the instructor credential and the training requirement needed to get the license. You'll just have to check with the state that you are interested in teaching in to see if the NRA Pistol Instructor certification will work.
Since the NRA is considered the gold standard for firearms instruction, many states do accept the NRA Pistol Instructor certification.
I'm Under 21, Can I Become an Instructor?
The NRA has three types of instructors. All Certified Instructors have to be 21 or older. Certified Instructors can teach on their own without over-site. This is also the certification you want to be able to teach Ohio CCW classes.
NRA Assistant Instructors are able to assist in classes and order course materials from the NRA. To become an Assistant Instructor you have to be 18 or older and complete all the other requirements just as if you wanted to become a Certified Instructor.
NRA Apprentice Instructors can also assist in classes. To become an Apprentice Instructor you have to be 13-17 and complete all the other requirements just as if you wanted to become a Certified Instructor.
Contact Kevin with any questions about the different levels or instructors.